Tap to Read ➤

Camellia Flower Pictures

Amruta Joshi
Camellia is an evergreen plant that belongs to the tea family.
There are 100 to 250 species of camellia that are native to southern and eastern parts of Asia.
Camellia can be found on an altitude of nearly 5.000 feet.
These plants grow in cool areas, on moist, well-drained soil under partial shade.
Camellia flowers range in size from 1 – 13 cm.
Camellias do not tolerate drought and require regular water supply.
There are more than 3,000 cultivars of camellia that are available around the world today.
Camellias are cultivated because of their leaves that are used for the manufacture of tea and in decorative purposes.
Some species of camellia such as "sasanqua" can be trimmed and cultivated in the form of hedges, topiaries and espaliers.
Camellia produces thick, glossy leaves with serrated edges that are alternately arranged on the branches.
Camellia develops large, showy flowers that consist of 5 to 9 white, creamy, yellow, red or pink petals.
Center of the camellia flower is filled with numerous yellow stamens.
Some types of camellia produce variegated flowers multicolored and double flowers.
Fruit of camellia is dry capsule divided in up to 5 segments. Each segment is filled with seeds.
Camellia propagates via cuttings and seed.